Babysitting While [Insert Race Here]

Feel free to take whatever lesson you’d like from the fact that a white man walking with his black granddaughter today is grounds for suspicion and a serious police response.

She told me to take my hand out of my pocket and to step away from Ty, declaring that someone had seen a white man chasing a black girl and reported a possible kidnapping. Then she began asking the five-year old about me. The last time this happened, Ty was barely two, and I wasn’t about to let police question her. This time, though, at least initially, I decided to let her answer. “Do you know this man?” the deputy asked. “Yes,” Ty mumbled shyly, “he’s my Grandpa.” The deputy couldn’t understand her (though I did) and moved closer, hovering over the child slightly, repeating the question. Ty mumbled the same response, this time louder, but muffled through a burgeoning sob that threatened to break out in lieu of an answer.

Update: It looks like the details may have been miscommunicated.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.